Making Democracy Work

Making Democracy Work

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

"POLITICALLY SPEAKING" Covers Redistricting

WNIT'S 11/15/15 "Politically Speaking" episode on: The Election Process & Local Policy Impact

In This Segment Our guests join us to talk about current redistricting processes, attempts for reform and impact on local and national elections. Guests

Ted Boehm, Former Supreme Court Justice, member of Indiana Study Committee on Redistricting

Elizabeth Ennis, Education Director, Michigan League of Women Voters

Julia Vaughn, Policy Director, Common Cause Indiana

Brandon Smith, State News Reporter, Indiana Public Media

LWVIN Education Study

The LWVIN Education Study Committee, 2015-2017 has submitted a position statement for local league study and concurrence:

"League of Women Voters of Indiana supports a free, publicly-funded, non-sectarian system of schools serving all the state's children from pre-school through 12th grade."

The deadline for concurrence with the proposed position will be January 2016. (Following that, there will be a consensus study for 2016, with reporting at the start of 2017.) The various rationales offered are not exhaustive but can serve local LWVs as conversation-starters.

The suggested reading materials offered by the LWVIN Education Study Committee can be accessed here:

Consitution of the State of Indiana (1816)

Constitution of the State of Indiana (1851)

LWV Principles

Why Does LWVIN Need a General Statement of Support for Public Education in Indiana?

Why begin Indiana Public School Education with Early Childhood Education?

Why is a High-Quality Free Public Education in a System of 'Common Schools'(pre-K to 12) Necessary in Our Society?

Education Proposals Adopted at LWVIN Convention 2015

First Interim Redistricting Study Committee Meeting Set for October 1, 2015

The first meeting of the Special Interim Committee on Redistricting will be at 9 a.m. on Thursday, Oct. 1 in Room 404 of the State House.

Citizens and coalition members will be watching to ensure it results in a proposal for real reform that creates a truly independent redistricting process.

No agenda has been published yet but it's likely this first meeting will be spent on getting organized and setting their agenda for the next year. We will develop a list of requests for the first meeting which will include having meetings at places and times which make it easy for Hoosiers from around the state to participate (i.e not at 9 a.m. on a weekday). We will also request that they set their meetings well in advance.

The Indiana Coalition for Independent Redistricting will host a meeting immediately following the study committee meeting on October 1. Location has not been determined yet; we will likely meet over lunch to develop strategy for upcoming meetings. Stay posted - more information about that will be sent next week, once we have time to plan.

LWV Indiana Installs Board

At its annual convention April 17-19, delegates from 17 local Indiana Leagues installed the LWV Indiana 2015-2017 officers and directors. The full board is listed below:

Lisa Plencner (South Bend Area, 2017)
Erin Kelley (Indianapolis, 2017)

1st Vice President
Debbie Asberry (Indianapolis, 2017)

2nd Vice President
Linda Shanks (Bloomington-Monroe County, 2016)

Carrie Sosbe (Indianapolis, 2017)

Directors Barb Anderson (South Central Indiana, 2016) Gretchen Jeavons (Shelbyville MAL, 2016),
Pam Locker (Southwestern Indiana, 2016), Amy Miller (Indianapolis, 2017),
Jeanette Neagu (LaPorte County, 2017), Gail Pebworth (Montgomery County, Appointed, 2017),
Kimber Sorenson-Brugh (South Bend Area, 2017), Corrina Than (Greater Lafayette, 2016),

Nominating Committee
Barb Schilling, Chair (Calumet, 2017), Barb Reed (Cass County, 2017), Pat Sosbe (Montgomery County, 2017)

Politically Speaking Focuses on Indiana Elections Laws

Watch the March 1 installment of WNIT's Politically Speaking, which focused on Indiana Election Laws. The panel featured LWV South Bend Area vice president, Lisa Plencner, Moderated by

The program focused on Indiana Election Law and the panel included LWV South Bend Area vice president Lisa Plencner, State Senator John Broden, State Representative Tim Wesco, and Elkhart County Clerk Wendy Hudson. Senator Broden and Politically Speaking moderator Elizabeth Bennion are also LWV South Bend Area members.

Support LWVIN with a Financial Donation

Find Us . . .

Address: 1500 N. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: 317-241-VOTE (8683)